Skip to content

Dr Bashir’s amazing impostor syndrome treatment

April 9, 2012

Not long a ago a friend of mine landed a TT interview at a Fancy Pants University (FPU). The interesting coincidence is was the same FPU I went to as an undergrad. So of course we chatted a bit before she went off for her interview. Unfortunately I couldn’t really provide her much useful information. I was a student in a totally different department. I had no idea what it’s like for professors1, let alone professors in her area. The conversation did have an interesting sequence that I’ll paraphrase:

“Sally”: What advice can you give me. How do you deal with the FPU arrogance?

Bashir: They’re arrogant?

Sally: Sure. Look who’s in that department that will be at my talk, Famous Researcher #1, Famous Researcher #2, etc.

Bashir: You’re worried about tough questions from them?

Sally: no…they’re hot shit. What if they think I’m an idiot?

Bashir: {bleep} them. You’re smart. Just act like you belong there.

Ok, perhaps my advice isn’t so much amazing. It was at least succinct and to the point. Cultivate a little bit of irrational confidence to inoculate yourself from impostor syndrome. Try it for a month, and call me in the morning.

1. Other than the one day my physics professor took time to explain his (failed) tenure case to class. Awkward.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. GMP permalink
    April 9, 2012 3:31 pm

    This is good advice. I usually hear/offer it as “Fake it till you make it.”

  2. gigirose permalink
    April 9, 2012 5:25 pm

    ha. I was gonna say “fake it till you make it” as well. it’s my mantra.

  3. DrugMonkey permalink
    April 12, 2012 7:57 am

    I have the same advice to offer but I always am concerned it is inadequate. As in, if you can do the “fuck them” routine, you really don’t have Imposter Syndrome (that badly, anyway).

Trackbacks

  1. Diversity in Science Carnival: IMPOSTER SYNDROME EDITION! | Neurotic Physiology

Leave a Reply

