Skip to content

Can I put youtube videos on my CV?

March 1, 2012

Just last week I had a manuscript officially accepted (high fives). In the ensuring email flurry I was given the option of making a video abstract.

A what?

Apparently the journal (or the publishing company) thinks it would be interesting if authors essentially make youtube videos of their abstracts. There’s the option to just combine audio with slides, for a “slidecast” of sorts. The example videos include researchers sitting in their offices1, or walking along a scenic street, while giving a 3 to 5 minute abstract of the paper.

I asked around and opinions range from, a complete waste of time, to a good way to get your face out there. Do people do this? I’d never even heard of it and probably will pass. Though it might be my only semi-legit change to put a youtube video on my CV.

1. complete with a mildly inappropriate picture in the background.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ion permalink
    April 13, 2012 5:49 pm

    Your question reminds me of a girl who put in her CV, as her skill, her ability to sell items on eBay. She said she has commerce skills from selling clothes on eBay. Your skills are a bit better, at least you show you can edit a video.

  2. March 4, 2014 5:33 am

    Good day! I coulɗ have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after ϲhecking througɦ somе of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I foսnd it and I’ll be book-marking
    and checkiոg back frequently!

Trackbacks

  1. 12 Months of Bashir | Bashir

Leave a Reply

