Skip to content

Update

October 27, 2011

An update with regard to my prior post on a solicitation for minority scientists to review papers for the journals published by a big discipline organization.

Nothing so far from them.

(I have reviewed one paper since then for a non-society journal.)

Here’s my comment on it from the first post:

“I am mindful of not over committing to reviewing papers. I am not going to take on dozens of articles. Right now I have zero, and haven’t had one in months. Other aspects of my work should and will come first. However, I am also mindful of being excluded (purposely or not) from the collaborative aspects of science; conference talks, workshops and to some degree reviewing. As someone who is still trying to break into a permanent science position I am all for participating in these aspects of the work. As much as I need to put good work on my CV, the last thing I need is to be invisible.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 6:27 pm

    Have you published in that journal before? In my experience, once you have published a few times in a journal they will start asking you for reviews.

    You could ask your elders to recommend you, too. I know my PhD advisor did that for me in a couple of journals.

    It takes some time to break into the circles, especially if you are new and the journals are prominent. I hope you being a minority doesn’t have anything to do with it.
    FWIW, I did not start reviewing on a regular basis until I became a faculty. Now I can’t shake them.

    • October 27, 2011 9:19 pm

      Sure, though this was a solicitation for minority scientists specifically. I assume because they want to make their reviewing pool more diverse and whatnot. I’m not sure what the point would be otherwise. The solicitation was put out by a large discipline organization that publishes dozens of journals.

      Maybe they just haven’t gotten any papers in my area since then. If I were cynical I might begin to suspect that the solicitation was more for perfunctory show than something that might lead to specific actions.

      • BikeMonkey permalink
        November 4, 2011 11:40 pm

        My requests always seem uneven. I can go for awhile with few and then get hammered with several in one week or two. Fwiw.

  2. November 13, 2011 12:46 am

    Sure, though this was a solicitation for minority scientists specifically. I assume because they want to make their reviewing pool more diverse and whatnot. I’m not sure what the point would be otherwise. The solicitation was put out by a large discipline organization that publishes dozens of journals.
    +1

Leave a Reply

