Skip to content

I guess that worked as designed

January 26, 2011

Work on my project in new method X is going along nicely. I’m starting to think of where to submit the eventual manuscript. In a fit of post-meeting optimism I started thinking about a relatively high profile general discipline journal run by one of the big Bashirology organizations. As part of thinking about the possible fit for the journal I went through the table of contents for the last few years to get a feel for what they’ve been publishing lately and see if there’s anything using method X. There was plenty of method X work (a good sign I think), I even got a recent method X article that should be helpful in terms the general structure. Also I ran across an odd little note in the journal from only a few months back. To paraphrase:

Reviewers from underrepresented groups wanted. Send in a CV, area of expertise details, a list of journals you would be interested in reviewing for, yadda yadda yadda

Huh. I’ve reviewed before for a few journals. Not this one, and none published by this organization. I’ve never seen any sort of solicitation for reviewers (other than for conferences) and certainly nothing targeted.

* shrugs *

I’ll send in my info and see what happens.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 5:24 pm

    Sounds like a good idea. Let us know what becomes of it.

  2. grumpy permalink
    February 6, 2011 10:53 pm

    being asked to review for a journal is a nice ego-boost. but what is the point of volunteering to review for a journal? Sound like asking to do work with no clear benefit/credit, but maybe I’m missing the point…

    • February 8, 2011 10:45 am

      I am mindful of not over committing to reviewing papers. I am not going to take on dozens of articles. Right now I have zero, and haven’t had one in months. Other aspects of my work should and will come first. However, I am also mindful of being excluded (purposely or not) from the collaborative aspects of science; conference talks, workshops and to some degree reviewing. As someone who is still trying to break into a permanent science position I am all for participating in these aspects of the work. As much as I need to put good work on my CV, the last thing I need is to be invisible.

Trackbacks

  1. Update « Bashir

Leave a Reply

