Skip to content

Tea Leaves Reading

September 2, 2012

Way back in the early days of grant preparation I went on to NIH Reporter and printed out a list of the currently funded projects for the grant type. The profile of the projects being funded was not what I expected, yet not entirely surprising. I was reminded of course of the Bishop blog post on the devaluation of low-cost research. The profile of what NIH was funding (and what they weren’t) was certainly something I kept it mind in putting my project together for the grant. The degree to which my research program, and ideas for future projects resembled funded project should be accentuated.

That brings me to job ads. Some are quite specific in what they want. Others are vague. Others somehow manage a bit of both. It is tempting to try to do a bit of tea leaves reading here. Though many ads ask for a researcher of some broad topic, it is tempting read between the lines and assume they also mean using that hot new method everyone likes, or the one that we know NIH funds a lot. My own department wrote a pretty broad job ad last year, and then brought out 4 people with very very similar research methods (and proven or potential funding). I am waiting to see an ad that merely states Fundable researcher needed. Topic flexible. (I assume the ‘open’ searches are exactly this.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2013 4:41 am

    This paragraph will assist the internet users for setting
    up new weblog or even a blog from start to end.

  2. July 9, 2013 1:54 pm

    I just like the helpful information you supply in
    your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check once more here frequently. I am relatively sure I will learn lots of new stuff proper right here! Good luck for the following!

  3. February 22, 2014 8:16 am

    Good post! We are linking to this great content on our site.
    Keep up the great writing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

